RSS

Side effects of the 3-bid rule

16 Feb

We have a few repairs that need immediate attention so we’re collecting estimates for them. I’ve been fielding sales calls and collecting quotes so we can compare the bids and weigh our priorities. Honey, shouldn’t we replace the ugly peel-n-stick floor in the kitchen with wood first AND THEN get that new roof the inspector recommended? Prioritizing isn’t my forte obviously.

We’ve also been finding vendors for future projects and requesting several bids for each. Since we moved in we’ve had roofers, handymen, window people, flooring people, water softener people, glass block people and window glass replacement people give us their smiles, pitches and bids and now my head is overflowing with even more useless knowledge than my normal load. For whatever reason my memory is kicking in and I’m retaining everything these people are saying to me. I lost my filter during the move. It’s not awful but it makes me wonder why my brain couldn’t hold this much drivel back in high school.

I’ll probably never forget the debate in the glass block world about whether the “pan” (the old metal basement window frame to you and me) should be removed during installation. I’ll forever retain that some vendors charge sales tax for hard wood floors and some don’t and that none of them should according to Ohio sales tax laws. When replacing the glass in windows, some contractors remove the whole window and some don’t. I could go on (and on).

I take in the backstory of the company, learn about the process and materials and will recite it back to Babe, who is only half-listeneing because-really-WHO CARES? While I impress myself with this ability to recall so much, the trivia is gumming up the decision-making process.

So many questions are rattling in my brain between the factoids and minuscule details, like a pinball caught between the flippers. What’s the better method? What’s the best investment? What’s more energy efficient? Which sales guy is stretching the truth? I’d like to be done with this vacillating so we can take a few more steps forward.

Today I chose the color of the new roof so I guess that’s progress. We won’t see it completed till next month, but it’s a step. “Driftwood”. The shingles are gray with gray flecks. It wasn’t an earth-shattering decision but with roof color only the bad choices are noticed for the most part. Maybe once it’s up and done I’ll forget the brand name of the shingles (Certainteed) their style (Landmark Dimensional) and the name of the color I chose. Hopefully it’ll be just the new gray roof that does its job and I can concern myself with who and what is under it instead.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Improvements

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Side effects of the 3-bid rule

  1. MBS

    February 22, 2012 at 9:57 am

    “Driftwood” is a wonderful color for a roof.

     
  2. The Tenderfoot Homestead

    February 29, 2012 at 1:04 am

    Thanks, M. It goes up later this week. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
